top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Alienated

"Islamic society alienates me."

A powerful statement shared by somone who is an American Muslim woman, and therefore is certainly a member of "Islamic society."

One's faith-based community is usually a place where a person seeks a sense of community and belonging, but if you don't "fit in" with that community for whatever reason it can be a source of pain and loneliness. This is sometimes doubled by the fact that American Muslims are also not considered truly American because of our faith. If you don't fit in with either community, then where do you belong?

I typically use a lot of bright colors and patterns in my work, but my usual style does not feel appropriate for this statement. I will be doing something different with this one.


bottom of page