top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Challenges


Since I kind of feel like this cat today, I thought I would share some of the challenges that I am facing with this series:

1. Time

A few years ago there was a reality show on Bravo called "Work of Art: The Next Great Artist" that brought contemporary artists together in one space to compete against one another. Although the show was cancelled after two seasons or so, the website is still up and running:

"Do you have what it takes to be The Next Great Artist? If you're ready for the crit, then we want to hear from you. Bravo has extended casting for Season 2 of Work of Art: The Next Great Artist, and is now seeking artists 18 years of age or older. We're looking for truly gifted artists who can create gallery-worthy works under the pressure of competition. Download and fill out the application, which includes full application instructions, prepare your digital portfolio and send to us ASAP. The sooner you get the application and video to us the better! GOOD LUCK!"

I learned two things from watching the show: (1) I'm not the only artist who struggles to move their work from vision to paper -- I know, I know, why was that a surprise? but still....whew! what a relief!, and (2) I would not be able to work under those conditions.

Generally I marinate my ideas for weeks, sometimes months before starting to create. This helps to fully develop my vision and flesh out the details so that every part of the work has a purpose. Then once I start a piece it can take several weeks to complete because of the details and patterns.

When my ideas don't have time to marinate, I feel rushed and stressed. I am feeling a bit of that now as the deadline for my show steadily approaches. How am I managing? Well, like most parents I spend a lot of time driving my kids around to practices, activities, bday parties. This drive time is now my planning time where I try to flesh out plans for the next piece. It's working....sort of.

2. Inspiration

I knew that I wanted -- needed --- to focus on art full-time when I would find myself laying awake at night thinking about paintings that I wanted to create. I LOVE that uncomfortable, squirmy, clawing feeling because I KNOW that what I create is going to be EXACTLY what it needs to be.

When I paint without that feeling, that inspiration, that drive, my work just is MEH. Not as good.

So now I am creating 20+ pieces inspired by completely different perspectives and personalities, in a short period of time. I'm not sure why I didn't anticipate this challenge, but I didn't.

So far my work around has been to create several pieces at once. If I am feeling blocked on an idea, I don't dwell, I move on and come back. Probably a good skill to learn!

3. Introvert

I am an introverted artist.

This means that I need my alone time to create. And by alone, I don't mean "close the door, leave me alone." alone. No, I mean "completely empty house for several hours" alone. Since my kids are on summer vacay, my hubby works from home, and I work in my house (in the kitchen, in the bedroom, on the living room floor....), this need is particularly difficult to meet.

I am still trying to figure this one out, but until I do please click here to enjoy photos of famous artists in their studios.


bottom of page